This morning I woke up on mT Lemmon. Conor and I hiked up there last night, just a little ways, to spend a beutiful moonlit night outdoors. And beautiful it was. It was so bright I could knit without my headlight on. There is this little top, opne pof many at Mt Lemmon, that is really diverse in vegetation, that is kind of longish in shape. If you walked to the outher edge of it, you find a polace where in the east you have the wilderness and in the west Tucson. The contrast is striking. I sat on that ridge and knit my mits, looking from one side to the other while Conor was sleeping in the tent. It was intense, and I felt good about where I was. It wasn't even that cold. High 30s I think.

We woke up this morning what I thought was at 4am and couldn't understand why he was in such a rush to get off the mountain. Actually, it was 6am and he needed to get to work. Got it. We got to see the sun rise, and the soft light that it casts just befpre rising above the horizon.

Tomorrow we are going to climp Humphrey's peak. I wait with excitement. We are driving to Flagstaff tonight, and camping at the trailhead. Hopefully we will camp tere tomorrow night too, but we will see how our energylevel is. I'm going to approach this prepared and humble. Hum,phrey's is one of the four holy peaks of the Navajo, one of the four peaks surrounding their sacred land, Dinetah. Dinetah broadens wider than the Navajo Nation reservation, and the peaks have looked after them for millenia. It is told one woman broke down in tears on the return from Hweeldi, the long walk, when she saw the eastenmost peak and then died. The Navajos for forced to the long walk in 165 when the US government wanted to move them from their land to Fort Sumner. 8-9000 Navajos were forced to walk 300 miles to the Bosque Redondo reservation in New Mexico where they were supposed to farm in a fruitless land. 200 died along the way and many more at the reservation. Women and and old people were shot along the way if they could not keep up, and a woman stopping to give birth at the side of the road was shot too.

In 1868 the goverment realized their mistake and let them return to Dinetah and there are now almost 300 000 Navajos, being the tribe with the biggest population in the US. So a little history lesson there!

i must be on now   .a.