So, i've learnt this new way of respecting myself as an artist: by disrespecting the actual artworks that i do. Ok, this is gonna be a hard one to explain. First off, let me say that none of the following applies to the ceramics I do. I shall deal with that in another chapter.

<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

 

Ok, so what I was telling early about Hitner  putting emphasis on us having a major idea behind the pieces we make. Art should not exist only for the beauty of it and "being nice to look at". You must be able to put something in it, that expresses you opinion or thought of something more than just the motif itself. Am I making any sense here? So this agrees really well with art being merely a medium, not having a purpose in itself. Well, I must say I kind agree with both philosophies. If I didn't I wouldn't be able to any longer appreciate the life work of O'Keeffe. True, no? but at the same time I can't just sit down and say Hitner is entirely wrong either.

 

What he talks about in making a successful piece of art, more precisely a painting, is taking that idea you have an presenting it without stylising it, but however go about it, you'll probably get where you're going best by not caring so much about the outcome. You've heard about artists saying that once they've completed a piece it becomes meaningless to them? Well, that's what I'm talking about. It is useless to become very attached to pieces. I know I do that. So I have this experiment on my living room floor, in fact the one place where I walk through all the time, an there two of my paintings ended up while I was showing them to someone. So true to my habit of having things lying around the paintings are still there. They're not stretch out on a canvas or anything, so I step on them. At first just little careful steps on the sides of them, but now I'm able to step all over them. I mean, nothing too elaborate, just walking where I'd normally walk. I don't know what meaning this exactly will have on my work, but we'll see. It's funny though, cos we're just rambling through as many paintings as possible, and I think it's a really way of learning how to paint at this point in my "career".